The Patna Commissionerate, headed by The Commissioner, Central Excise & Service Tax, covers the complete geographical area of whole State of Bihar whice comprises of 38 districts of Bihar. The Commissionerate is further divided into 5 Divisions namely Patna, Mizaffarpur, Gaya, Leheriasarai & Bhagalpur.




The jurisdiction of five Central Excise Divisions are as under:







The jurisdiction of this division extends over the districts of Nalanda, Begusarai and a significant part of Patna with its headquarter at Patna. Petroleum Products, Iron & Steel, Aerated Water and Biscuits are main commodities of this divisions..

Two exclussive Service Tax Ranges namely Bankipur-I and Bankipur-II are there and their jurisdiction extends to  entire Patna and Patna City.






This division started functioning with its Hqrs. at Gaya town w.e.f. 14.11.1974. The Division comprises of 9 districts i.e. Nawada, Gaya, Aurangabad, Rohtas, Bhojpur, Jahanabad, Arwal, Bhabhua, Buxer and part of Patna District. Cement, Footwear, Iron & Steel ,PSC Sleepers and Plastic & articles thereof  are main commodities of this division





The Division started functioning in its present form from 15.02.1982 with its Hqrs. at Laheriasarai (Darbhanga). Its jurisdiction covers whole of Darbhanga, Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Samastipur, East Champaran, West Champaran, Araria, Madhepura, Saharsa, Supaul and Sheohar Districts of Bihar. Sugar, Molasses,Jute Textiles& twine ,Iron &Steel and Biri are main commodities of the division.






It is one of the oldest division of the Commissionerate having its Hqrs. at Muzaffarpur. The jurisdiction of this Division is spread over the districts of Muzaffarpur, Vaishali, Siwan, Chhapra and Gopalganj. Zarda, Aerated Water, Sugar and Molasses are main commodities of this division






The Division commenced functioning with effect from 01.01.1992 with its Hqrs. at Bhagalpur after bifurcation of Central Excise Division Patna. Its jurisdiction covers the districts of Bhagalpur, Banka, Munger, Khagaria, Jamui, Lakhisarai, Katihar, Kishanganj and Purnea. Cigarette, Paper & Paperboard, Biri, Chewing Tobacco, Iron & Steel and firearms are main commodities of the division.
An exclussive Service Tax Range has been created in Bhagalpur Division w.e.f. 31.01.2008.                                      



<< Back                           Site is maintained by National Informatics Centre, Central Excise Hqrs., Patna Commissionerate, Patna                       Home >>